224 N Lee Avenue
Hereford, Texas 79045
(806) 363-7100
City of Hereford
Beef Capital of the World

Elected Officials

The City Commission is responsible for policy, leadership and the general direction of City Government. The Mayor and two Commissioners are elected at-large from the City and four Commissioners are elected from specific places or wards within the City. The Mayor, along with Commissioner Place One and Commissioner Place Three are elected in odd-numbered years and Commissioner Place Two, Commissioner Place Four, Commissioner At-Large Place Five and Commissioner At-Large Place Six are elected in even-numbered years. Elections to the positions are held in May of each year for two-year terms.

The City of Hereford is a "Home Rule" Municipality. Municipalities adopting home rule charters have full power of local self-government and may exercise any power not prohibited by the Constitution or laws of the State of Texas. The City of Hereford operates under a charter approved in an election held on September 6, 1952.

Website Builder